13
Nov
07

First Impressions: Gears of War – PC

So, I just started into Gears of War on the PC. I’ve played through the campaign of GoW on X360 twice already: once alone, once with a friend. I had an awesome experience both times through. I never really played the multiplayer component, primarily because I’m a PC gamer at heart and I think paying 50 bucks a year to play shooters online seems like a ripoff. I’m even starting to think monthly fees for MMOs are kind of rediculous; but, they are most definitely for shooters that don’t provide regular content updates. Also, Xbox Live is full of douche bags.

This is all beside the point.

I really enjoy the way the control scheme has been adapted for us keyboard/mouse loyalists. I’ve only changed one of the defaults so far – I changed the key used for entering cover and roadie running to be left shift instead of space bar. It just felt more natural to me. The difficulty level seems a bit higher for the Windows version of the game, too, perhaps due to increased accuracy from aiming with the mouse. Maybe I’m just rusty though. To boot, the game looks absolutely gorgeous; even better than it does on X360.

But it’s not all good times, unfortunately.

Now, I don’t have a state of the art box, but I’m pretty well equiped. (Insert juvenile jokes, here) Despite my dual-core Opteron 180 and my 8800 GTS 640MB and my 2 GB of system RAM and the fact I’m running XP on a nearly empty, freshly defragged hard drive, I’m getting major stuttering issues and framerate drops, even with V-Sync turned off.

All I have to say is:

FIX IT

There’s no reason I should be having these troubles on my rig, with the game at medium-high settings. I can run the Crysis single-player demo at higher frame rates on medium-high settings. I really, really want to play the Brumak level. But as is, the game is just too choppy.

It’s not like I don’t have other games to play, but come on, Epic. GoW is an experience I want to relive . Just not as a slide show.

1 Response to “First Impressions: Gears of War – PC”


  1. 1 Steve
    January 19, 2008 at 9:49 pm

    My setup is quite similar to yours, with more ram, i can run crysis at almost max detail on xp, with little slow down, yet i cant even browse the menu on gears of war, its so choppy, that i cant even select a menu option.


Leave a Reply

