26
Feb
08

That Q1 drought…

So, you may have noticed I’ve not been posting lately. This is in large part due personal life changes that have occured over the past few months. Also, there is the sheer lack of exciting titles (for the most part) following the turn of the New Year.

You may be saying to yourself, “There have been a number of bigger titles released in recent months, man!” You would be wrong.

I finally got around to playing RE: Umbrella Chronicles (yes, I know that’s a “recent release”). It was mediocre at best. Devil May Cry 4 is entertaining in small doses, but we’ve all played this game before. It’s called, “any other game in the Devil May Cry franchise.”

Other than that? Well, I guess we’ve got Smash Bros. Brawl to look forward to. I’d love to see my Wii get some more use. As is, I’m still not convinced I didn’t waste $300 buying the damn thing.

In the meantime, I’ve been playing through Condemned: Criminal Origins in anticpation of it’s sequal. I bought the game when I bought my 360 two years ago and still haven’t gotten around to beating it. I’m finally getting a hold of the combat system, so things are going more quickly than the last time I tried to play. The game is genuinely scary and I definitely sit on the edge of my seat whilst playing. I also have Dead Rising to sink some hours into if I feel the need. I also re-installed Oblivion over the weekend and downloaded a ton of mods for it; enough, I hope, that it’ll essentially be a brand new experience.

Also, I realize I never posted full-fledged reviews for Assassin’s Creed and Mass Effect. I think it’s safe to say those aren’t forthcoming. There are plenty of reviews out there for the game. I’ll give a quick review of each right now.

Assassin’s Creed – The game breaks all kinds of new ground for the action/adventure genre. I had a blast playing the game. However, the criticisms of repetitive game play and a bummer of a cliff-hanger ending are deserved. 6.5/10

Mass Effect – BioWare delivers a truly epic game here, in scale and story. The narrative is pretty run-of-the-mill, but the execution is brilliant. I had a ton of fun exploring the galaxy and doing side missions. Granted, I did a lot of the side missions to make my character as powerful as possible, only to realize the difficulty scales with me. Can we PLEASE stop doing that? It totally removes the incentive to become uber, which I really enjoy. What’s the point of achieving a high level if there are no low-level NPCs to smite? It’s just silly. Either way, I’m looking forward to the sequals. 7/10

So, let’s hope that Brawl and the forthcoming GTA title are worth some attention.

Honestly, I’ve been more pre-occupied with the political news than anything going on in the gaming industry. I’m a Obama fan, through and through. Clinton has said in the past she supports legislation regulating the sale of violent media. I won’t be having none o dat.

Also in the news recently was EA’s attempt to acquire 2K. I found the whole story really interesting, especially since 2K essentially told EA to take their offer and shove it up their collective ass. Good for you 2K. We already have a problem with too many “new” games failing to be just that – the last thing we need is another acquisition by EA.

0 Responses to “That Q1 drought…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

