18
Aug
08

PREVIEW: Too Human

So, I just finished playing through the Too Human demo, and I’ve got to say, I’m not entirely sure I want to redeem my pre-order of the game. Early reviews of the full title aren’t looking so good, and my personal experience with the demo mirrors the criticisms on 1UP.

Even in the demo there are long and overwrought cut-scenes, although they are interspersed during game play which makes them slightly less tedious. The combat is somewhat satisfying, but I could see getting bored with it after long stretches. Too Human‘s control scheme is just different enough from about every other third-person action game I’ve played to be slightly frustrating. Using the Right Stick to swing my melee weapon around was horribly unresponsive. I was never quite in control of when and where it goes, and my natural propensity to use the right stick to control the camera was a hard habit to break. Once I got the hang of it, though, I could imagine doing some pretty slick stuff in battle.

The gear/loot system will be attractive for fans of the Diablo series. I was already checking my inventory every time I got a drop to see if it was more powerful than what I had equipped. The skill trees also offer some opportunity for customization, but you can pretty much guess what kinds of skills you’re going to get based on the class you choose.

All-in-all, I’m still on the fence on this one. I think I’ll wait for a few more reviews to roll in before making my final call; however, this could end up being like playing through Mass Effect, sans engrossing character development. I think part of the reason it looks attractive at this point is I’m hard up for fresh games to play, having resorted to finally playing through Unreal Tournament III.

0 Responses to “PREVIEW: Too Human”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

