09
Sep
08

Gears of War 2 vs. Resistance 2 on Blend Games

There’s a rather entertaining “debate” going on at Blend Games over whether Gear of War 2 or Resistance 2 will be a better game when they’re eventually released. I put debate in quotes because really it’s just a fanboy flamewar. It is rather entertaining to read, if you enjoy reading unsubstantiated claims by a bunch of idiots. Which I do. There are some rational  people posting in the comments section, but their comments go largely ignored.

I played both original games, offline only. I couldn’t really get into Resistance, so I didn’t finish it. Story was cool, but the controls felt kinda sloppy and the early weapons in the game felt uninspired. Also, I’m sick of gray and brown color palettes. Ugh. I considered buying a PS3 when I first saw Resistance: FoM, but I wasn’t impressed enough with it to drop the $600.

I actually bought a X360 because of Gears. Some of my best gaming moments came from playing its co-op mode with a buddy. The story was spotty on the details, and the characters are mostly one-dimensional testosterone junkies. But it PLAYED really well. Plus, it has A CHAINSAW GUN. Awesome.

I didn’t play either of the games online. I don’t own a PS3 and I’m a PC gamer at heart, so paying $50 a year to play games online seems like a rip-off. And 60-player online modes may make you console-exclusive guys go nuts, but that kind of capability has been around in PC games for a while. I’m glad the console guys are getting that kind of experience now, though.

Anyway, only time will tell. In the meantime, go laugh at the flamewar.

0 Responses to “Gears of War 2 vs. Resistance 2 on Blend Games”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

